League One Player of the Year Award nominations announced

The Football League announced the nominees for the League One Player of the Year Award this afternoon with Gillingham’s Bradley Dack, Swindon’s Nicky Ajose and Walsall’s Romaine Sawyers all in contention to pick up the award.

Joe Garner was given the award last season whilst Adam Forshaw and Matt Ritchie were winners in 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Bradley Dack (Gillingham)

Dack has played a key role in Gillingham’s push for promotion this season. The 23-year-old has netted 15 goals this campaign and chipped in with nine assists.

It was certainly a sign of things to come when Dack scored five goals in the opening five games of the season and the Greenwich-born midfielder has continued to play with confidence all year.

Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)

Although Swindon have struggled at times this season, Ajose’s performances have consistently been of the highest quality. The striker joined Swindon in the summer on a free transfer after being released by Leeds and has become an instant hit at The County Ground.

The 24-year-old has scored 22 league goals to make him League One’s top goalscorer and has currently netted nine goals in as many games.

Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)

Sawyers has helped Walsall’s promotion push with five goals and numerous assists so far this season.

The 24-year-old St Kitts and Nevis international has been with Walsall since 2013 after joining from West Brom and has already made over 100 appearances for the Saddlers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *