Shortlist announced for Women’s Player and Coach of the Year

A 10 name shortlist has been announced for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year and the FIFA Women’s World Coach of the Year awards.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala on 11th January next year.

Although there is no British representation for the Player of the Year Award, Mark Sampson, Laura Harvey, Colin Bell and John Herdman have all been nominated for the Coach of the Year Award.

Sampson guided the England Women’s team to an extremely commendable third place finish at this Summers World Cup in Canada.

Nuneaten-born Harvey led the Seattle Region to their second consecutive NWSL title, Bell guided Frankfurt to this year’s Women’s Champions League title, whilst Herman helped the Canadian national team to the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *